BOOK REVIEW: One by Sarah Crossan

One by Sarah Crossan

£10.99 (Bloomsbury)

“Here

We Are.

And we are living.

Isn’t that amazing?

How we manage

to be

at all’’

When a copy of Sarah Crossan’s new book arrived one Friday in the Seven Stories Oneoffice, I immediately knew what my weekend was going to entail- tea, poetry, and quite likely- tears. I wasn’t wrong. I read One in one sitting, and it has been with me since.

Written in a distinctive style of free verse, One tells the emotional story of conjoined twins Tippi and Grace– two teenagers up against difficult decisions- not only dangerous separation surgery and the endless pressure of media interest, but also the usual difficulties facing teenagers- friends, bullies, love, sisters, identity. In addition, their individual emotions, interests and fears are intertwined, affected by the love and bond between them.

Emotional and insightful, this book was beautifully written. The lyrical language and emotion of each poem set the pace of the storytelling and the emotions wonderfully, and also allowed for a closeness to be developed with the protagonist- I really felt I was stepping into Grace’s inner monologue.

A magnificent piece of writing, this book raises and deals with issues sensitively- it is without a doubt the most powerful YA book I have read this year to date. I highly recommend it- and whilst you are waiting for its publication, read The Weight of Water– you won’t be disappointed!

I’m really looking forward to Sarah Crossan’s event at Seven Stories in September, alongside the fantastic Jenny McLachlan and their agent Julia Churchill- for click here for tickets and I’ll see you there!

Jenny x